Take our short quiz and see if you’re a GFP label-reading pro! Scroll below for the answers.
1. You can’t find any ingredient on the label that would have gluten in it, but it does say natural flavors. Is it safe?
A. Yes, natural flavors are always gluten free
B. Only if the product says gluten free on the label, and you’ve confirmed it with the manufacturer
C. Yes, even if it says natural flavors it’s always less than 20 ppm
D. I’m not sure!
2. Should a sensitive celiac consume a product if the label says it is also processed in a facility that manufactures wheat products?
A. No, cross contamination can happen during the processing of the product
B. Yes, all labels are required by law to say that, but the risk of exposure is not a concern
C. Yes, the cross contamination that happens during manufacturing is always less than 20 ppm
D. I’m not sure!
3. A label lists malt flavor as the last ingredient, is it safe?
A. Yes, malt is derived from rice which is gluten-free
B. Yes, since malt is the last ingredient that means it is present in the least amount and therefore will not cause a problem
C. No, malt is derived from barley which contains gluten
D. Yes, anything that is listed as a “flavor” is safe
4. Your bottle of vitamins list “Mixed Tocopherols” as one of the ingredients – should you buy them?
A. Not unless the bottle says gluten-free
B. Yes, provided a store employee can verify with paperwork that the product is indeed gluten-free
C. No, not until you can confirm with the manufacturer that the product is gluten-free
D. All of the above
5. True or False – your friend gives you a pack of rice crackers but there is no ingredient label because they came from a bulk order. She says they are gluten-free so they are fine to eat.
6. True or False – You are shopping for salad dressing and find one that looks safe, but says “May contain traces of wheat” on the label. Since it doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients it is safe to eat.
(7) True or False – Alcoholic beverages are not required to have an ingredient label because they are all gluten-free.
(8) Name five grains that contain gluten and five grains that are gluten-free:
Remember, if a label doesn’t say gluten-free then it’s better to be safe than sorry!
(1) B – Natural flavors can contain gluten but if the manufacturer has confirmed that the natural flavors are from a gluten-free source you’ve done your due diligence.
(2) A – Cross contamination that happens during the manufacturing process can be enough to cause a reaction and that product should be avoided.
(3) C – Malt can be made from corn but is usually derived from barley which does contain gluten.
(4) D – Mixed tocopherols can contain gluten and should be confirmed with the manufacturer. Always be sure to read labels on your vitamins and the “other ingredients” listed on prescription medications.
(5) False! In order to be safe you should read the label on everything that comes in a box, can, package, jar, and so on. Even though they are rice crackers they could still have soy sauce that contains wheat on them.
(6) False! Even foods that “may” contain traces of wheat can still be contaminated and it’s not worth the risk, especially for sensitive celiacs!
(7) False! Alcoholic beverages can contain gluten, especially beer. Make sure to always read labels on any type of beverage as they too can contain gluten. Distilled alcohols are gluten free.
(8) Wheat, barley, rye, spelt, and couscous contain gluten. Rice, quinoa, millet, corn, and amaranth are gluten-free.